Want to Become a Real Estate Salesperson? 5 Steps to Getting Your License

by John Manfred

A career in the Real Estate industry can be very rewarding; smart entrepreneurs are drawn to the flexible hours and unlimited income potential. The only requirements to start on your real estate journey are you must be at least 18 years old and a US citizen. If you have been convicted of a felony, you will need to contact the Department of State before getting your license; they handle this on a case-by-case basis.

There are 5 steps to getting your New York State Real Estate License: 

  1. Take a 75 Hour Salesperson Course
  2. Pass a Course Exam
  3. Pass a State Exam
  4. Find a Sponsoring Broker 
  5. Apply for Your License

1. Take a 75 Hour Salesperson Course

The 75 Hours Salesperson Course is required by the state of New York to get your Salesperson License. The curriculum covers agency, working with clients, property basics, fair housing, ownership, contracts, valuation, environmental issues, math, and property management. You can expect to spend a good portion of your time studying laws, regulations, and vocabulary in the course. 

New York State allows this course to be taken online, in the classroom, or a blend of the two. It is important to make sure the school is approved by the state before you enroll. You should be able to enroll in a course for under $600.

2. Pass a Course Exam

Both the state and course exams must be proctored. The exams consist of 75 multiple choice questions, and you must receive at least a 70%. The cost of the course exam depends on the school you select. Make sure you check whether your school has a limit on the number of times you may take the exam or a waiting period to retake it if you fail; some schools may require you to repurchase and retake the course if you fail the exam. You do not need to pass the course exam to take the state exam, but you must pass both to apply for your license.

3. Pass a State Exam

State exams are typically given on a weekly basis, depending on you area. The exam costs $15, and there is no limit on the number of times you can retake the state exam if you fail or a waiting period to retake the exam.

4. Find a Sponsoring Broker

Every real estate salesperson must work under a broker, as only brokers are allowed to accept commissions for real estate sales; this is how agents are paid. Brokers are always looking for new agents. Take your time to interview brokers and find the best fit for you.

5. Apply for Your License

To apply for your real estate salesperson license,  you will need to create an eAccess account online with the Department of State.  The application process is done online. You will need to pay the $55 application fee and provide your sponsoring broker’s ID number. You will not need to submit any certificates unless requested by the state.

About the Author

John Manfred is the president of the Manfred School. The Manfred School has been in business for over 30 years, providing education in the real estate industry.